Amigos Board Starts New Fiscal Year

At its August 5th meeting in Dallas, the Amigos Board of Directors welcomed new Director Jean Waldrop from Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. Directors Linda Morgan Davis, The Public Library of Albuquerque and Bernalillo County (NM); Steve Potter, Mid-Continent Public Library (MO); and Independent Director Gretchen McCord (TX) were re-elected in May. Amigos continued the tradition of holding an orientation session just prior to the first meeting of the new fiscal year to review policies, programs and procedures. Chair Craig Stephenson, Vice Chair Linda Morgan Davis, President and CEO Bonnie Juergens, and Amigos leadership staff all participated in the informative session.

In other business, Stephenson announced the following appointments to serve on the Budget and Finance Committee with Treasurer and Chair Ruben Aragon, New Mexico Highlands University:

  • Ben Shipley, Independent Director (AR)
  • Jean Waldrop, Harding University (AR)
  • Charles Cason, Staff Liaison

Stephenson announced the formation of a Marketing Review Task Force to review marketing philosophy, processes, and resources to advise the Board about any needed changes. Members include:

  • Lisa Wells, Chair, Pioneer Library System (OK)
  • Gretchen McCord, Independent Director (TX)
  • Steve Potter, Mid-Continent Public Library (MO)
  • Tracy Byerly, Staff Liaison

Aragon delivered the Treasurer's report, noting that the year-end financial performance both operationally and in the Amigos portfolio was negative but less so than predicted in May when the Treasurer's Report was provided to members. Amigos begins the new fiscal period with a strong reserve and a fiscally sound operations plan.

The Board heard an update from Amigos President and CEO Bonnie Juergens about the new version of the Amigos eShelf℠ Service, recent additions to the AskAcademic program, and the upcoming Conference on The Purpose-Based Library to be held August 24th & 25th in Kansas City.

Chair Craig Stephenson is doing double-duty this year as he chairs both the Board and the President and CEO Selection Task Force. Task force members include Sheila Johnson, Dean of Libraries, Oklahoma State University (OK) and current Amigos Board member; Steve Potter, Library Director and CEO, Mid-Continent Public Library (MO), who is a current Board member and former Chair; Jennifer Goodson, Library Director, Fort Smith Public Library (AR), also a former Chair of Amigos; and Sara Lowman, Vice Provost and University Librarian, Rice University (TX), and another former Chair of Amigos. Trisha Mooney, Executive Support Services Manager at Amigos serves as staff liaison. The Task Force has released the position announcement and is accepting applications through September 12th.

Stephenson stated "The Task Force is made up of three current Directors of the Amigos Board as well as two past Chairs of the Amigos Board. The Task Force members were selected to ensure regional and library type representation. Realizing the importance of selecting the next President/CEO of Amigos, the Task Force spent a full day in July discussing the selection process and finalizing the advertisement of the position. I believe the Task Force will be able to provide the Amigos Board with a candidate that will continue Amigos' legacy of being a leader in the industry."